Creative connections that transform



The Jarman Award

Image of The Jarman Award 2014

The Film London Jarman Award recognises and supports artists working with moving image and celebrates the spirit of experimentation, imagination and innovation in the work of emerging artist filmmakers. The Award is inspired by visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman.

Now in its ninth year, the Award has a reputation for spotting rising stars of the UK art world. Previously shortlisted artists include Duncan Campbell, Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Luke Fowler, Elizabeth Price and Laure Prouvost, all of whom went on to be shortlisted for or win the Turner Prize.

The Award will be announced at the Whitechapel Gallery on Monday 28 November in a special ceremony where they will receive £10,000 prize money and support from Channel 4 to produce a new film for their Random Acts arts strand.

2016 Shortlist

The 2016 shortlisted artists are:

The winner of this year's Film London Jarman Award will be announced on Monday 28 November 2016.

Find out more about the Award