The Jarman Award 2009

The Film London Jarman Award

Film London and Channel 4 in association with the Whitechapel Gallery, awarded the 2009 Jarman Award to Lindsay Seers on 22 September 2009.

Seers was selected from a shortlist of four artists which also included: Anja Kirschner & David Panos, Simon Martin and Stephen Sutcliffe.

Lindsay Seers wins the Jarman Award 2009

A compelling storyteller, Seers presents a highly inventive approach to memoir, deftly celebrating the craft of film-making. Combining sculptural and filmic elements, her works effortlessly distil complex ideas into concise and engrossing narratives.

Jarman Award 2009 jury panel

Jarman Award 2009 jury

  • Richard Birkett, Curator, ICA
  • Iwona Blazwick, Director, Whitechapel Gallery
  • Dave Calhoun, Film Editor, Time Out
  • Shami Chakrabarti, Director, Liberty
  • Stuart Comer, Film Curator, Tate Modern
  • Asif Kapadia, filmmaker
  • Jan Younghusband, Head of Arts, Channel 4