The Jarman Award 2014

The Film London Jarman Award

The Film London Jarman Award 2014 was presented to London-based artist Ursula Mayer.

The Jury said "It was the work of Ursula Mayer that came closest to touching on the language that Derek Jarman himself so often strived for." Mayer, they continued, fuses "historical research with a dazzling contemporary aesthetic," bringing to life "the heroines and bêtes noires of feminist Modernism". "She has brought to the screen a cast of remarkable contemporary performers," the Jury explained, referring to her work with transgender model Valentijn de Hingh among others, saying this was very much "in the spirit of Jarman."

As winner, the Austrian-born artist received a £10,000 cash prize and a commission for Channel 4’s short-form arts strand, Random Acts. Sebastian Buerkner, Monster Chetwynd, and Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard were also awarded Random Acts commissions.

Ursula Mayer wins the Jarman Award 2014

Jarman Award 2014 shortlisted artists

Jarman Award 2014 jury

  • Iwona Blazwick, Director of Whitechapel Gallery
  • Steven Cairns, Associate Curator of Artists' Film & Moving Image at the ICA
  • Beatrice Gibson, artist filmmaker
  • John Hay, Commissioning Editor for Arts at Channel 4
  • John Maybury, filmmaker