The Jarman Award 2018

The Film London Jarman Award

The winner of the 11th Film London Jarman Award was Daria Martin.

The announcement was made on 27 November 2018 at a celebratory event at the Barbican Centre, London. The winner received prize money of £10,000.

Daria Martin wins the Jarman Award 2018. Photo by Freezeframe Media

Jarman Award 2018 shortlisted artists

Between them, the artists test the edges of filmmaking practice while deep-diving into contemporary concerns that range from the global to the hyper-local. From 35mm to CGI and animation, the artists’ palette draws from hip-hop to video games while telling kaleidoscopic stories that take in everything from speedway racers to the plight of the politically displaced.

This year's selection bring a fresh and compelling series of narratives and styles, sharing a real and unreal brilliance in creativity, and demonstrating extraordinary gymnastics of the mind. They represent distinct worlds of thought and life experience, the prisms of expression bringing to the fore proactive instigations for a world that cries out for positive change. The Award's importance lies in its transformational effect for those who participate, whether they win or not, recognising their sustained practices, and introducing their work to new audiences around the UK. It is an honour for the jury to reward the artists' commitment, ambition and rigour.

Skinder Hundal, Chief Executive of Nottingham's New Art Exchange, on behalf of the 2018 Jarman Award jury

Jarman Award 2018 jury

  • Andrea Lissoni, Senior Curator, International Art (Film), Tate Modern and Film London Board Member
  • Catherine Bray, Editor, Random Acts, Channel 4
  • Iwona Blazwick OBE, Director, Whitechapel Gallery
  • Melanie Manchot, Artist shortlisted for Jarman Award 2017
  • Skinder Hundal, Chief Executive, New Art Exchange, Nottingham
  • Tyrone Walker-Hebborn, Director, Genesis Cinema

Video: Jarman Award 2018 trailer

Jarman Award 2018 shortlisted artists. Left to right: Hardeep Pandhal, Margaret Salmon, Daria Martin, Lawrence Lek, Larry Achiampong, David Blandy, Jasmina Cibic. Photo by Freezeframe Media