The Jarman Award 2010

The Film London Jarman Award

Film London and Channel 4 in association with the Whitechapel Gallery, awarded the 2010 Jarman Award to Emily Wardill at a special event on Tuesday 5 October 2010.

Wardill was selected from a shortlist of four artists which also included: Monster Chetwynd, Ben Rivers and Zineb Sedira.

Emily Wardill wins the Jarman Award 2010

A formally daring film-maker, Wardill has produced a bold range of highly experimental and fiercely intelligent yet accessible works. Her most recent feature length film, Game Keepers Without Game, confidently unpacks clichéd ideas about realist television and melodramatic convention.

Jarman Award 2010 jury

Jarman Award 2010 jury

  • John Akomfrah, artist filmmaker
  • Iwona Blazwick, Director, Whitechapel Gallery
  • Avi Grewal, Channel 4
  • Mark Rappolt, editor, ArtReview
  • Gillian Wearing, artist filmmaker