The Film London Jarman Award 2020 Presentation

Latest 12 Nov 2020

News Story

The Film London Jarman Award 2020

The Film London Jarman Award 2020 took place on Tuesday 24th November and was, for the first time, an entirely online presentation. Celebrating artists who work in the field of moving image, the award was presented to all six shortlisted artists and the award's prize money was shared equally between the artists in recognition of a challenging year. More information can also be found on this page regarding the history of the Jarman Award and the shortlisted artists.

  • A world-renowned annual prize for artists' moving image in the UK, established in 2008
  • Inspired by visionary artist filmmaker Derek Jarman
  • Artists are nominated by art and film world experts across the UK each year
  • A jury of industry leaders select 6 artists for the shortlist
  • Works by the shortlisted artists are toured to key cultural venues across England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland
  • £10,000 prize money
  • Previous winners are Luke Fowler (2008), Lindsay Seers (2009), Emily Wardill (2010), Anja Kirschner & David Panos (2011), James Richards (2012), John Smith (2013), Ursula Mayer (2014), Seamus Harahan (2015), Heather Phillipson (2016), Oreet Ashery (2017), Daria Martin (2018) and Hetain Patel (2019)

Find out more about The Film London Jarman Award shortlisted artists:

Access opportunities for artists working in the moving image, including exhibition opportunities, residencies and more.

Click Here

Find out more about FLAMIN projects: