Film London alumni nominated for 2023 BIFAs

Latest 7 Nov 2023

News Story

Last week, we were delighted to see so many Film London alumni nominated for the 2023 British Independent Film Awards!

First off, it's amazing to see our Film London x BFI NETWORK short Lions(2022) from Beru Tessema and Ama Ampadu nominated for Best British Short! George Telfer is another Film London alumnus nominated in the category for his short film Festival of Slaps.

Film London Lodestars 2023 and PFM NTS alumni Alice Russell and Gannesh Rajah received three nominations for their debut documentary If the Streets Were on Fire. These include, Best Feature Documentary, The Raindance Maverick Award and Best Debut Director – Feature Documentary for Alice Russell. The film's producer Gannesh Rajah also received a nomination for Breakthrough Producer and recently completed our 2023 edition of Breaking the Glass Ceiling run by Film London's Equal Access Network (EAN). Fellow Film London alumni Chi Thai and Georgia Goggin also received nominations for Breakthrough Producer. Goggin's Pretty Red Dress was directed by Film London alumnus and Lodestar, Dionne Edwards.

Molly Manning Walker, a 2021 Film London Lodestar, has received an incredible THIRTEEN nominations for her stunning debut feature How to Have Sex, including Best Screenplay, Best Director and Best British Independent Film. Manning Walker also worked on a series of Film London x BFI NETWORK shorts between 2019-2021 as a Director of Photography, and its great to see her nominated for Best Cinematography for her DOP work on Charlotte Regan's Scrapper. Film London alumnus Nida Manzoor also received a nomination for Best Debut Screenwriter alongside Manning Walker, for her debut feature Polite Society.

Also nominated for an array of BIFAs is Rye Lane director and Film London alumnus Raine Allen-Miller. The hit debut feature racked up a total of SIXTEEN nominations including Best Debut Director, Best Screenplay and Best Director for Allen-Miller herself, as well as Best British Independent Film and Best Joint Lead Performance.

Congratulations to this incredible list of talent! See the full list of this year's nominees here.