Artists to share Film London Jarman Award 2020 prize in recognition of challenging year

Latest 24 Nov 2020

News Story

Jarman Award 2020 identity. Black line writing against a red and white backdrop

Film London Jarman Award split between the six shortlisted artists for the first time in the Award’s 13 year history

This evening (24 November), it was announced at a special online event that for the first time ever, all six shortlisted artists will receive a share of the £12,000 Film London Jarman Award Prize money. The Jarman Award, which was established in 2008, recognises and supports artists working with moving image in the UK.

The decision to split the prize money was a collaborative decision between the six shortlisted artists, Film London and the Jury for the 2020 Jarman Award. It reflects the solidarity of the artistic and creative community in the face of challenging economic conditions resulting from the global COVID-19 pandemic.

Jarman Award 2020 shortlisted composite portraits. Top left to bottom right: Andrea Luka Zimmerman, Project Art Works, Larissa Sansour, Michelle Williams Gamaker, Hannah Quinlan & Rosie Hastings, Jenn Nkiru

Art and artists have the power to make change and for this reason we want to share the prize as a statement of equity for the works we are all invested in making and those they give voice to… We believe that our cultural contribution takes on increased resonance, despite the difficulty of the circumstances we find ourselves in. Our work stems from a multiplicity of perspectives that we cannot privilege, one over the other... We acknowledge the history of the award and also in particular Derek Jarman’s long term collaborations with artists and communities and his love and care for those he worked with and amongst. He formed allyships across time, genres and people. In this spirit we wish to share the award. In these times of turbulence and trauma we must build change and stand in solidarity with each other and those we represent. This gesture aligns with new directions for living and working and reflects the artists and values FLAMIN and the judges have selected in 2020.

The Film London Jarman Award 2020 winning artists

Video: Watch the Jarman Award 2020 winners' statement in full

I know that my fellow jurors would like to join me in expressing our congratulations to all the winning artists for their tremendous achievement. The equal division of the prize is a testament to the artists' solidarity and a symbolic gesture of unity at a time when we all face social isolation, economic uncertainty and anxiety about communal health. Having served on this jury for over a decade, I'm still moved and excited at both the formal experimentation and the urgency of themes being addressed by artists working in the UK today. Their pioneering spirit is expressive of a contemporary sensibility, yet is true to the legacy of Derek Jarman.

Iwona Blazwick, on behalf of the Jury

Film London Jarman Award 2020 artists

This truly is a unique time, where people are pulling together to lend support and draw collective strength. So it is entirely fitting that this year, we and the Jury – in discussion with the shortlisted artists - should take the unprecedented step of awarding this year’s Film London Jarman Award to all six shortlisted artists. Artists have always played a crucial part in uniting communities, questioning the world around us and encouraging change, and never more important than now. Tonight’s announcement celebrates just that, reflecting the diversity of practices and themes that reinforce the importance of artist filmmaking. A sincere thanks goes to our Jarman Award Patrons, funders Arts Council England, and returning partners Whitechapel Gallery and Genesis Cinema for all their ongoing support.

Adrian Wootton, Chief Executive of Film London and the British Film Commission

The 2020 Film London Jarman Award was presented by Adrian Wootton (Film London), Iwona Blazwick (Director of Whitechapel Gallery and member of the Jarman Award Jury) and Dexter Fletcher (Director, Actor and Jarman Award Patron).

The Jury who selected this year’s shortlist are: Andrea Lissoni, Director, Haus der Kunst, Munich, and Film London Board Member; Iwona Blazwick OBE, Director, Whitechapel Gallery; Artist and 2019 Jarman Award Winner – Hetain Patel;

Shaminder Nahal, Commissioning Editor, Arts and Topical, Channel 4, and Tyrone Walker-Hebborn, Director, Genesis Cinema.

Get the latest artists' moving image news, opportunities, exhibitions and more in the FLAMIN newsletter

Sign up now