Selected 10

About Selected

Tanoa Sasraku, O'Pierrot (2019), film still. Courtesy of the artist, The New Flesh and LUX

The Selected 10 programme celebrated the tenth anniversary of FLAMIN and videoclub's collaborative programme, marking a decade of supporting artist filmmakers to gain greater visibility and to bring new, diverse moving image work to audiences. Each year the artists who are shortlisted for the Film London Jarman Award nominate artists who are earlier in their careers, and from those nominations a programme is curated. In previous editions, the programme was screened in various UK partner organisations, however due to the COVID-19 pandemic the programme was shown online between 6 and 12 July 2020.

The nominators for the Selected 10 programme (and the artists shortlisted for the Jarman Award in 2019) were: Cécile B. Evans, Beatrice Gibson, Mikhail Karikis, Hetain Patel, Imran Perretta and Rehana Zaman.

Video: Selected 10 Trailer

Work in the Selected 10 programme

Sharif Persaud & Tim Corrigan, The Mask, 2017, 3:45 mins

Tanoa Sasraku, O’ Pierrot, 2019, 13 mins

Danielle Braithwaite-Shirley
, TRANS-PORT ME, 2019, 11:49 mins

Rhea Storr
, A Protest, A Celebration, A Mixed Message, 2018, 12 mins

Ayo Akingbade
, So They Say, 2019, 11 mins

Jennifer Martin
, TEETH, 2019, 18:15 mins

Rabz Lansiquot, Nyansapo, 2017, 11 mins

Beverley Bennett
, Amine, 2017, 11:29 mins

Read and listen to interviews with the Selected 10 artists

Selected is produced by videoclub