The Film London Jarman Award 2023

The Film London Jarman Award

The 16th Film London Jarman Award was presented to Rehana Zaman.

The Award was announced by actor and Talk Art presenter Russell Tovey at a special ceremony at London's Barbican Centre on 21 November 2023. Zaman received prize money of £10,000.

Rehana Zaman at the Jarman Award ceremony (Barbican Centre, 21 November 2023). Photo by Ro Murphy.

The Film London Jarman Award 2023 shortlisted artists

  • Ayo Akingbade
  • Andrew Black
  • Julianknxx
  • Sophie Koko Gate
  • Karen Russo
  • Rehana Zaman

Work by the shortlisted artists was shown as part of a nationwide touring programme presented in partnership with a variety of cultural venues including Whitechapel Gallery (London), Nottingham Contemporary, Spike Island (Bristol), g39 (Cardiff), MAC Belfast, LUX Scotland (Glasgow) and Towner Art Gallery (Eastbourne).

From surreal animated worlds to filmic explorations of landscape and community, the 2023 Film London Jarman Award showcases the urgency, creativity, and humour of exciting new approaches to the moving image.

Whether located in a Hackney council block or a Guinness factory in Nigeria, Ayo Akingbade’s intimate and playful films reflect the influence of place on a personal sense of identity, while Andrew Black works in close collaboration with local communities to uncover complex political histories hidden beneath the surface of the British countryside.

Experimental animator Sophie Koko Gate transforms familiar angsts and desires into dreamlike stories and psychedelic worlds, from a curious woman who has developed a taste for slugs as lovers to a fantastical holiday-romance film made during lockdown. Karen Russo’s work focuses on marginalised characters, obscure buildings and forgotten moments from the 20th century, allowing us to reflect on the political, religious and cultural power structures that shape our understanding of history.

Empathy and community are at the heart of Rehana Zaman’s practice. Developed in collaboration with a group of women affected by the UK Government’s Hostile Environment Policy and prison system, Zaman’s recent work captures the perseverance of love and solidarity through experiences of trauma. In his practice, Julianknxx explores the multiple realities of black lives, from a poetic documentary that highlights the disproportionate impact of air pollution on working class citizens in London to a cinematic return to the artist’s birthplace of Freetown in Sierra Leone.

The artists shortlisted for the 2023 Film London Jarman Award create work characterised by a sense of resilience and joy, creating new visual languages and fresh perspectives on often tough and complex subjects.

The Film London Jarman Award 2023 shortlisted artists' work (top left to bottom right): Julianknxx, Sophie Koko Gate, Karen Russo, Rehana Zaman, Ayo Akingbade, Andrew Black

Footage of 'Derek Jarman in the Garden' used in the Film London Jarman Award 2023 interviews is courtesy of Richard Heslop.

About the Jarman Award

The Film London Jarman Award is a prestigious annual prize which recognises and supports the most innovative UK-based artists working with moving image, and celebrates the spirit of experimentation, imagination and innovation in the work of emerging artist filmmakers. Launched in 2008 and inspired by visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman, the Jarman Award showcases artists' moving image to audiences throughout the UK and beyond through its annual touring programme.

Now in its sixteenth year, the Award has built an enviable reputation for spotting rising stars of the UK art world. Previously shortlisted artists include Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Oreet Ashery, Duncan Campbell, Monster Chetwynd, Luke Fowler, Imran Perretta, Charlotte Prodger, Laure Prouvost, Elizabeth Price, James Richards, and Project Art Works all of whom went on to be shortlisted for or to win the Turner Prize.

The Film London Jarman Award is presented by Film London with support from Arts Council England. The 2023 Film London Jarman Award event partner is the Barbican Cinema.

Read: Jarman Award 2023 booklet

Related links