Creative connections that transform




Image of Jarman Award 2018

Film London Jarman Award: A Journey Through The First Decade

Date posted: 09.05.2018

We're pleased to announce 'Film London Jarman Award: A Journey through the First Decade', a new exhibition celebrating 10 years of the Jarman Award which promises a unique insight into the work of the UK's  leading artist filmmakers.

Running from 15 May - 10 June, the free exhibition at east London's Whitechapel Gallery will celebrate the innovation and evolution of one of today's most exciting artforms. Artist filmmaking is gaining greater prevalence with each passing year, as evinced by this year's Turner Prize nominations, which include previous Jarman Award nominees Charlotte Prodger and 'Forensic Architecture' affiliate Lawrence Abu Hamdan.

The exhibition covers the Award's first ten years, focusing on work by winners from 2008-2017: Luke Fowler, Lindsay Seers, Emily Wardill, Anja Kirschner & David Panos, James Richards, John Smith, Ursula Mayer, Seamus Harahan, Heather Phillipson and Oreet Ashery.  Work by shortlisted artists co-commissioned by Channel 4 will also be presented, with work by artists including Rachel Maclean, Ed Atkins, Sophia Al-Maria and Bedwyr Williams adding to this this comprehensive overview of today's boldest and most innovative moving image practitioners.

Established in 2008, the Jarman Award is named in honour of Derek Jarman (1942 - 1994), the artist whose imagination, singularity of vision and collaborative practice breathed fresh life into British filmmaking. The Award seeks to celebrate this same creative spirit, rewarding challenging and innovative work and helping to establish the place of the moving image within the art world.

Adrian Wootton OBE, Chief Executive of Film London and the British Film Commission, said: "I vividly remember meeting a group of Derek's friends, colleagues and executors to discuss a fitting testament to his spirit and legacy, so it has been a great source of pride and pleasure to witness the Award become both a landmark in its own right and a yardstick by which contemporary moving image work is judged. Each of the award's recipients shares something of Jarman's own original and innovative spirit, and I hope Derek himself would have welcomed the association. My heartfelt thanks go out to the FLAMIN team for making the Award such a success, and we all look forward to the next ten years of experimentation, innovation and envelope-pushing artist filmmaking."

The Award is the centrepiece of an ongoing programme of work from Film London Artists' Moving Image Network (FLAMIN), which promotes and supports UK-based artist filmmakers through a range of development, production and training schemes. 

Film London uses cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy Close