Creative connections that transform

Log in



Film London Welcomes New Board Members

Date posted: 12.12.2011

Film London today announced four new members of its Board of Directors, which is Chaired by producer David Parfitt.

Sir Robin Young, Sally Caplan, Kevin Price and Liz Meek join Film London's board bringing a strong combination of government and industry knowledge to the capital's film and media agency, which now also manages the British Film Commission.

"These appointments are part of Film London's comprehensive strategy to successfully drive the agency forward" said Chair David Parfitt. He continued that it was "essential that we have the right expertise and knowledge in place...and I believe the strength of our board puts us in the best possible position to make the most effective use of our resources".

While Adrian Wootton, Chief Executive of Film London and the British Film Commission thanked outgoing board members Martin Pilgrim and Nadine Marsh Edwards for their six years of service, saying "they have been a fantastic asset and I appreciate their commitment and all their hard work".

Sir Robin Young, who is currently on the Board of Institute of Directors, was formerly Permanent Secretary at the Department of Culture Media and Sport (DMCS). In addition to the DCMS, he also headed up the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI). He will strengthen the Film London board in view of its new national remit for inward investment, managing the British Film Commission.

Sally Caplan, Managing Director of eOne Films International, was Head of the Premiere Fund at the UK Film Council (UKFC) between 2005 and 2010, awarding funding to over 45 films ranging from Mike Leigh's Happy Go Lucky to Max Giwa and Dania Pasquini's Streetdance 3D, and the phenomenal worldwide commercial hit and multi Oscar®-winning film The King's Speech. Prior to being at the UKFC, Caplan was President of Icon Film UK following a successful career in acquisitions at PolyGram Filmed Entertainment, Universal and then Momentum Pictures. 

Kevin Price has been BAFTA's Chief Operating Officer for the past 11 years where he has led on strategy, finance, business, corporate governance, communications and charity outreach. He has been credited with evolving BAFTA into an integral organisation in the UK's film, television and video games industries.

Liz Meek is currently Chair of a new London think-tank, the Centre for London. Formerly Head of the Government Office for London, she supported the creation of the London Film Commission (which became part of Film London in 2003). Subsequently she was Regional Director in the North West, leaving in March 2011 to work in the Cabinet Office in an advisory capacity.

Leaving the Film London board, having reached the end of their tenures, are Martin Pilgrim who was formerly Chief Executive of London Councils and independent film producer Nadine Marsh Edwards.

Read full press release.

Add your comment

In order to post a comment you need to
be registered and signed in.

Film London uses cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy Close