Creative connections that transform

Film London Jarman Award 2018

Film London Jarman Award 2018

Image of Daria Martin wins Jarman Award 2018

Daria Martin was announced the winner of the £10,000 Film London Jarman Award this November. In the lead-up to the announcement, a specially-curated tour of the shortlisted artists' work screened at major arts venues throughout the UK, culminating in a weekend of screenings, discussions and performances at Whitechapel Gallery on 17 and 18 November. 

Read more about the winner of the 2018 Jarman Award, Daria Martin.


The Jarman Award 2018 shortlisted artists

  • Larry Achiampong & David Blandy
  • Jasmina Cibic
  • Lawrence Lek
  • Daria Martin
  • Hardeep Pandhal
  • Margaret Salmon

Between them, the artists test the edges of filmmaking practice while deep-diving into contemporary concerns that range from the global to the hyper-local. From 35mm to CGI and animation, the artists’ palette draws from hip-hop to video games while telling kaleidoscopic stories that take in everything from speedway racers to the plight of the politically displaced.

Skinder Hundal, Chief Executive of Nottingham's New Art Exchange, said on behalf of the 2018 Jarman Award jury: "This year's selection bring a fresh and compelling series of narratives and styles, sharing a real and unreal brilliance in creativity, and demonstrating extraordinary gymnastics of the mind. They represent distinct worlds of thought and life experience, the prisms of expression bringing to the fore proactive instigations for a world that cries out for positive change. The Award's importance lies in its transformational effect for those who participate, whether they win or not, recognising their sustained practices, and introducing their work to new audiences around the UK. It is an honour for the jury to reward the artists' commitment, ambition and rigour." 

The Jarman Award 2018 jury

  • Andrea Lissoni, Senior Curator, International Art (Film), Tate Modern and Film London Board Member
  • Catherine Bray, Editor, Random Acts, Channel 4
  • Iwona Blazwick OBE, Director, Whitechapel Gallery
  • Melanie Manchot, Artist shortlisted for Jarman Award 2017
  • Skinder Hundal, Chief Executive, New Art Exchange, Nottingham
  • Tyrone Walker-Hebborn, Director, Genesis Cinema 

Find out more about the Film London Jarman Award

Film London uses cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy Close